Skip to content. Skip to navigation

Cornell Lab of Ornithology

Sections
News >

Association Webinar

(From the news e-list, 19 AUG 2013. Interested in subscribing? Click here!)

 

Webinar on a new Association for Citizen Science

Tuesday, September 17th
10:00  - 11:30 am Pacific US   //   1:00 - 2:30 pm Eastern US   //   6:00 - 7:30 pm GMT

Whether through grassroots action or technology-mediated crowdsourcing, there has been a rapid increase in public participation in scientific research (citizen science, volunteer monitoring, Pro-Am partnerships, community-based research and more). These initiatives stand to contribute significantly to improving STEM education, environmental literacy, and to meeting many of the scientific challenges of our day.

Since a 2012 conference in Portland, Oregon, where over 300 practitioners gave their overwhelming support to the idea of developing an Association to support this field of practice, many people have been working to make this a reality, including four steering committees who have articulated proposals for discussion, covering ideas for Association governance, conferences, web communications, and a journal.

We invite you to become a part of building this Association! This webinar will present a vision for the Association and its goals, discuss progress in designing a structure to serve a diverse and multi-disciplinary field, and offer ways for you to get involved now!

For more details and to sign up for the webinar, visit the new web home for the growing Association:

CitizenScienceAssociation.org

 

 


To join this elist, visit http://www.citizenscience.org/elist/

 

With questions, email us at cscentral@cornell.edu

 


Citizen science, volunteer monitoring, participatory action research... this site supports organizers of all initiatives where public participants are involved in scientific research.

More about this...